Podcast Yay or Nay: Serial

Ever heard of the criminal case of Adnan Syed and Hae Min Lee? I hadn’t either until the podcast “Serial” came out. It is a podcast that tells the story between Adnan Syed and his ex girlfriend, Hae Min Lee. Adnan was convicted of her murder and was sentenced to prison for life.

Number of people serving life in US prisons is surging, new report says -  ABC News
https://abcnews.go.com/US/number-people-serving-life-us-prisons-surging-report/story?id=47179022

At the beginning of the first episode I thought the narrator, Sarah Koenig, would be explaining the evidence and simply telling us the story of the case. But she did so much more than tell the story. She brought in guests, talked to Adnan and became in contact with a very important person that could have been vital for the case.

undefined
https://www.wired.com/2014/12/meet-the-guy-who-designed-the-elegant-branding-for-serial/

Although the podcast was engaging I think it was one of the best ways to have spread the case and gotten attention. When listening it made me visualize the case and try to form my own opinions. It really helped me figure out who I believed and who I did not. There are some people who I think would have liked and disliked the podcast. Depending on whose side you believed it would have changed your perspective of the podcast. If I was the family of Hae Min Lee I wouldn’t be excited or overjoyed because I probably would have believed that Adnan was her killer and everybody should know that. On the other hand I think Adnan’s family would be okay with the podcast because the first episode was indication that Sarah was very neutral. It was clear she was letting the facts be known before she created her own opinion.

Facts and Opinions Explained by Common Craft (VIDEO)
https://www.commoncraft.com/video/facts-and-opinions

My memory toward things is pretty good. There are definitely things that I don’t remember but for the most part I can recall things. Now one of the things that I struggle with the most is remembering what things I have done on different days. If something terrible happened on a specific date and I needed to remember exactly what I did that day I think I would be nervous. Especially if I had no witnesses or anything to make sure I was telling the truth. But relying on your memory was a key aspect for this case. The podcast really displayed the use of relying on your memory because the questions that Sarah asked her guests even started with “do you remember what you were doing … (this date)” but it would have been years ago. I think the podcast showed that it was really difficult for the prosecutors and judges of the case to come up with decisions because most of the evidence and information was from memory.

Brian Williams Memory September 11: Why Our Memory May Change | Time
https://time.com/3739786/memory-september-11/

Overall I would recommend this podcast if you are into crime or criminal cases. It is very intriguing and makes you create a path of your own thinking. It allows you to ask yourself questions about the case and imagine what would be happening if you were apart of the case or a case like this.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started